1978 - A Midsummer Night's Dream 

'A Midsummer Night's Dream' was also presented in 2001 and 2019


Dates & Location

Monday 19th June - Saturday 24th June 1978
Evenings at 8.15pm - Saturday matinee at 3pm

Hillbark Gardens, Frankby
In Association with the Department of Leisure Services,
Metropolitan Borough of Wirral.


Booking via Floral Pavilion, Heswall Hall, Birkenhead Library, ?????

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday  
Friday, Saturday  
Saturday Matinee  


                                              click to enlarge


The Cast  
The Court
Theseus Lance Robinson
Hippolyta Betty Adlard
Egeus Henry McDowell
Lysander Michael Ellis
Hermia Ann Warr
Demetrius John Alcock
Helena Suzanne Bonin
Philostrate David Gibson
The Immortals
Oberon David Coombs
Titania Patanne Fairfoot
Puck Keith Hill
Fairy Anne Wilson
Cobweb Jane Morris
Moth Anthony Warr
Peaseblossom Linda Parkinson
Mustardseed Paul Elliott
The Mechanicals
Peter Quince Bob Forrester
Nick Bottom Jim Bird
Francis Flute Mark Blades
Tom Snout Anthony Leigh
Robin Starveling Derek Williams
Snug Timothy Downes
Athletes / Immortals Isobel Ashton, Ken Ashworth,
Graham Brooks, Sarah Holmes-Woodhead, Morag McCaskill, Mark Morris
Fairies / Athletes Catherine Delves, Sylvia Lawrenson,
Sheila Myers, Elizabeth Roberts,
Linda Taylor, Yvonne Thomas
Courtiers Jill Breckon, Brenda Elliott,
Cathy Marland, Christine Williams
Tradesmen Andy Jones, Richard Smith

The production team




                             Patrick Gee


Movement Ann Warr
Stage Management Denis Thackrah
Assisted by Andy Jones, Richard Smith, Alan Myers, Carolyn Abbott
Stage Director Johnathan Ellis
Assisted by John Roberts, Don McPherson
Wardrobe Joan Eddowes
Lighting David Blincow
Assisted by Ron Lamb, Graham Davies, Stephen Laskey,
Peter Longstaff
Sound Peter Hilton
Properties Eileen Thackrah
Assisted by Connie Baker, Thea Cambridge, Barbara Meynell
Continuity Moira Hilton
Costumes Designed and made at the Mabel Fletcher Technical College by the 1st and 2nd year Theatre Wardrobe students
Under the supervision of David Harvey Jones
Original Music composed by Don Henshilwood This work was commissioned by The Hillbark Players with funds provided by the Merseyside Arts Association

                                                           Click to enlarge


                                                The immortals - click to enlarge

Click here to see
Photograph Gallery - 1

Photograph Gallery - 2

Photograph Gallery - 3

Photograph Gallery - 4

Photograph Gallery - 5 - The fairies


The Committee  
President Glenda Jackson CBE
Chairman Eric J Murch
Vice-Chairman Tom Gittins
Hon Secretary Capt John N Gibson
Hon Treasurer Michael DG.Ellis
Hon Business Manager Douglas Cochran
Hon Patrons & Ticket Secretary Owen Roberts
Press & Publicity manager Ray Wood
Hoylake Arts Association Geoff Sharples
Committee Members Joan Eddowes, Susan Jones
Officer in charge, Hillbark Glyn Lewis