1990 - Much Ado About Nothing


'Much Ado About Nothing' was also presented in 1964 as our first production,
to celebrate the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's birth.

It was also presented in 2015


Dates & Location

Monday 25th June - Saturday 30th June1990
Evenings at 8pm - Saturday matinee at 3pm

Hillbark Gardens, Frankby
In Association with Metropolitan Borough of Wirral, Department of Leisure Services and Tourism,


Booking via Floral Pavilion, Heswall Hall, Birkenhead Library, ?????

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday  
Friday, Saturday  
Saturday Matinee  


The Cast  
The Household of Leonato
Leonato Malcolm Ash
Antonio John Welshman
Hero Glenda Cooper
Beatrice Janet Bird
Ursula Anne-Lise Fraser
Margaret Carys Cooper
Ladies in Waiting Helen Hill, Caroline Sawley, Nicola Murphy
Friar Francis Richard Sawley
The Military Visitors
Don Pedro David Prince
Don John Lance Robinson
Count Claudio Richard Kelly / Michael Deakin *************
Signior Benedick Jim Bird
Borachio Paul Comaish
Conrade Michael Ellis
Messenger Iain Tyrell
Balthasar Iain Pelling
Soldier Michael Deakin
The Watch
Dogberry Keith Hill
Verges George Leigh
A Sexton Dennis Gannon
1st Watch Tim Downes
2nd Watch Nicholas Whitehead

**********Due to the illness of Richard Kelly, the part was also played by Mike Deakin.


                                                                              Click to enlarge

The production team




                                    Patrick Gee

Assisted by


                                   Ann Warr

Design by Valerio Marcus Martinez
Assisted by Gary Underwood
Stage Manager Nigel Cooper
Costumes made by Staff and students of the Theatre Wardrobe Course,
City College, Liverpool,
Supervised by Della Rebours, Jacqueline Ford
Lighting Ron Lamb, Nigel Pegrum
Assisted by Richard Angwin, Craig Barnett, Andrew Wright
Christopher Dornford-May, Andrew Green,
Dominic Hewitt, Kevin Irvine, Andrew Steele,
Assistant stage managers Jim Jardine, Colin Graham, Ann Hall, Richard Smith,
Ann Smith, William Wilson
Properties Christine Gee, Pauline Moran,
Betty Myers, Sheila Thompson
Sound Peter Elliott
Assisted by Adrian Pullin
Wardrobe Jean Longstaff
Assisted by Joan Eddowes, Diana Hardman
Hair Styles Pat Kelly
Music Adviser Jackie Robertson
Continuity Hilary Abbott
Production Secretary Marion Guyse Williams

                                  Cast and Directors


                                                            Click to enlarge


       Hillbark finally closed in 1989 and this was the
        last production in the grounds of the House.

      Click here for more press cuttings

The Committee  
President Glenda Jackson CBE
Chairman Eric J Murch 
Hon Secretary Hilary Abbott
Hon Treasurer Michael DG.Ellis
Hon Business Manager Alan Thomas
Hon Patrons & Ticket Secretary Owen Roberts
Press & Publicity Paul Holliday
Heswall Arts Association Brian JR Danger
Arts Officer, Department of Leisure Services & Tourism Rob Smith
Committee Members Joan Astbury, Henry McDowell
Geoff Sharples, Michael Ellis
Nigel Cooper,Ron Lamb
Patricia McDonough,